Louisiana State University-Shreveport (Online)
Request Info Now

Louisiana State University in Shreveport is a four-year public institution established in 1967, and is part of the Louisiana State University system. The university is a commuter school, enrolling 4,200 students and catering to a non-traditional student population. Student wishing to live near campus have access to campus apartments. LSUS grants undergraduate degrees and graduate degrees at the masters and specialist degree levels. LSUS is comprised of four colleges: Business Administration; Education and Human Development; Liberal Arts; and Sciences. LSUS students and faculty enjoy a low student-teacher ratio of 19:1, allowing for much individualized attention.

Teacher Education at Louisiana State University-Shreveport

The Department of Education offers undergraduate teacher certification programs in Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, and in the following areas in Secondary Education: English, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Social Studies. The department offers Post-Baccalaureate Alternate Certification programs in Elementary Education, Special Education and the following areas in Secondary Education: Biology, Chemistry, English, Mathematics, Physics, and Social Studies. Three advanced degrees are offered, including: Master of Education, Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction, and Master of Education in Educational Leadership. LSUS also offers an innovative, alternative teacher certification program called TeachLSUS - a programs designed to recruit and train knowledgeable, and skilled teachers.

Read More
Read Less

©2009-2018 EducationDegree.com All rights reserved.